Thursday, 23 May 2024

Finalists for NBA Season Awards are Set

Introduction: The NBA has announced the finalists for their prestigious regular season awards. Discover who is in the running for MVP, Rookie of the Year, Sixth Man Award, Defensive Player of the Year, Most Improved Player, and Coach of the Year.

Now, already a few games into the Conference Finals, the NBA has revealed the finalists for their regular season awards. Who will be named the 2017-18 NBA MVP? Rookie of the year? There are some fresh faces on these short lists for the NBA’s prestigious accolades.

The Finalists

Kia NBA Most Valuable Player

  • Anthony Davis, New Orleans Pelicans
  • James Harden, Houston Rockets
  • LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers

Kia NBA Rookie of the Year

  • Donovan Mitchell, Utah Jazz
  • Ben Simmons, Philadelphia 76ers
  • Jayson Tatum, Boston Celtics

Kia NBA Sixth Man Award

  • Eric Gordon, Houston Rockets
  • Fred VanVleet, Toronto Raptors
  • Lou Williams, LA Clippers

Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year

  • Anthony Davis, New Orleans Pelicans
  • Joel Embiid, Philadelphia 76ers
  • Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz

Kia NBA Most Improved Player

  • Clint Capela, Houston Rockets
  • Spencer Dinwiddie, Brooklyn Nets
  • Victor Oladipo, Indiana Pacers

NBA Coach of the Year

  • Dwane Casey, Toronto Raptors
  • Quin Snyder, Utah Jazz
  • Brad Stevens, Boston Celtics
Tham Khảo Thêm:  Around the NBA: 2020 Finals Preview

Predicting Winners – A Few Opinions

James Harden is the favorite to win MVP and has been all season. Stepping back, LeBron James is likely the only reason his team made the playoffs. Houston might have gotten in without Harden. Tough call, but Harden was the best player on the best team this season.

This seems like a good year to split Rookie of the Year honors. Mitchell and Simmons have both been spectacular. Really, the whole rookie class has been great.

Lou Williams has the Sixth Man Award locked up. Shoutout though to former Missouri Valley Conference player, Fred VanVleet – the unofficial captain off the bench for the best second unit in the league.

The Jazz had a surprisingly good year. That is because of their defense, which was centered around Rudy Gobert, your DPY. Most improved is tough between Oladipo and Capela. Another toss-up, but Oladipo will likely win.

For Coach of the Year, it certainly seems like Brad Stevens should take it, though all those listed were great. Gregg Popovich, Erik Spoelstra, and Brett Brown deserve shoutouts as well.

Winners will be announced on Monday, June 25. Did the NBA leave anyone off? Who do you think will win the awards? Let us know in the comments below!

Post Comment