Monday, 24 Jun 2024

Jrue Holiday Wins 2020-21 NBA Sportsmanship Award

Milwaukee Bucks guard Jrue Holiday has been recognized as the recipient of the esteemed 2020-21 NBA Sportsmanship Award, announced by the NBA today. This prestigious annual award is bestowed upon a player who exemplifies the principles of sportsmanship on and off the court.

Each NBA team nominated one player for the NBA Sportsmanship Award. A panel of league executives then selected one finalist from each of the NBA’s six divisions, resulting in a list of six exceptional athletes. The winner was chosen by current NBA players, who cast their votes through confidential balloting conducted by the league office. In total, nearly 350 players participated in the voting process.

In addition to Jrue Holiday, the finalists for the award included Bam Adebayo (Miami Heat), Harrison Barnes (Sacramento Kings), Josh Okogie (Minnesota Timberwolves), Kemba Walker (Boston Celtics), and Derrick White (San Antonio Spurs), representing their respective divisions.

Jrue Holiday received an outstanding 130 out of 343 first-place votes, accumulating a total of 2,752 points from NBA players’ ballots. Walker, a two-time NBA Sportsmanship Award winner, came in second place with 2,474 points. The scoring system assigned 11 points for each first-place vote, nine points for second place, seven points for third place, five points for fourth place, three points for fifth place, and one point for sixth place.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Focus on strengths - Insulate weaknesses — The Basketball Movement

A heartfelt congratulations to Jrue Holiday on this remarkable achievement! [Twitter quote from the Milwaukee Bucks]

With 12 years of experience in the NBA, Holiday secures his first NBA Sportsmanship Award. In the previous season, he was honored with the 2019-20 Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award, recognizing his selfless play, leadership both on and off the court, mentorship to fellow players, and unwavering commitment to the team.

Holiday, aged 30, has established himself as an NBA All-Star in the 2012-13 season and has been named to the NBA All-Defensive Team in both the 2017-18 and 2018-19 seasons. This season, he showcased his exceptional skills by averaging 17.7 points, 6.1 assists, and 4.5 rebounds in 59 games for the Milwaukee Bucks. The team acquired him from the New Orleans Pelicans in a four-team trade on November 24, 2020. Recognizing his outstanding contributions, Holiday was also a co-winner, alongside Josh Richardson of the Dallas Mavericks, of the January NBA Cares Community Assist Award presented by Kaiser Permanente, acknowledging his efforts in supporting those affected by the COVID-19 pandemic.

The NBA Sportsmanship Award is named in honor of the legendary Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer Joe Dumars. Dumars, a six-time NBA All-Star and two-time NBA champion, played 14 successful seasons in the NBA and was the inaugural recipient of the Sportsmanship Award in the 1995-96 season.

Please refer to the table below for the voting results of the 2020-21 NBA Sportsmanship Award and the comprehensive list of winners throughout the years.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Paul Pierce: A Hall of Fame Journey in Celtics Lore

[Voting results and list of NBA Sportsmanship Award winners table]


Q: How is the NBA Sportsmanship Award winner determined?

A: The NBA Sportsmanship Award winner is chosen through a voting process involving current NBA players. Each NBA team nominates one player for the award, and a panel of league executives selects one finalist from each of the NBA’s six divisions. NBA players then cast their votes through confidential balloting conducted by the league office.

Q: What are the criteria for the NBA Sportsmanship Award?

A: The NBA Sportsmanship Award aims to honor a player who best embodies the principles of sportsmanship on and off the court. Factors considered include ethical behavior, fair play, integrity, respect for opponents, and dedication to the game.

Q: How many times has Jrue Holiday won the NBA Sportsmanship Award?

A: Jrue Holiday has won the NBA Sportsmanship Award for the first time in the 2020-21 season. He previously received the Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award in the 2019-20 season.


Jrue Holiday, the talented guard of the Milwaukee Bucks, has been crowned the recipient of the highly esteemed 2020-21 NBA Sportsmanship Award. Acknowledged for his exceptional sportsmanship on and off the court, Holiday joins a prestigious list of past winners who epitomize the values of the NBA.

This prestigious award is presented to a player who best represents the ideals of sportsmanship in the league. Nominated by their respective teams, six exceptional finalists were chosen from the pool. The ultimate winner was determined through votes cast by current NBA players.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Nikola Jokic wins 2020-21 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award

Holiday, a respected veteran in the NBA, earns this recognition for the first time in his career. Known not only for his exceptional talent but also for his selfless play, leadership, and commitment to his team, this award further solidifies Holiday’s reputation as a true role model in the NBA community.

As we celebrate Jrue Holiday’s achievement, we also express our gratitude to Joe Dumars, the legendary NBA player, and two-time NBA champion, whose legacy prompted the creation of the NBA Sportsmanship Award.

For more news and updates on the NBA, visit