Monday, 24 Jun 2024

Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Finalists for Class of 2022

At the NBA All-Star 2022 event, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame revealed the finalists for the Class of 2022. The list includes six remarkable players, four exceptional coaches, and one esteemed referee from the North American and Women’s committees. Among the finalists are notable figures such as Manu Ginobili, a two-time NBA All-Star and four-time NBA champion, and Lindsay Whalen, a five-time WNBA All-Star and two-time Olympic Gold Medalist. The announcement highlighted the tremendous impact these individuals have had on the game of basketball.

North American Committee Finalists

Hugh Evans [Referee]

Hugh Evans, a former NBA Official, had an illustrious career spanning 28 years. His impressive record includes over 1,900 regular-season games, 170 playoff games, 35 NBA Finals games, and four NBA All-Star Games. After retiring from officiating, Evans became the NBA Assistant Supervisor of Officials. He is also recognized for his community service and is enshrined in the New York City Basketball Hall of Fame and the North Carolina A&T Hall of Fame.

Manu Ginobili [Player]

Manu Ginobili, a two-time NBA All-Star and four-time NBA champion, made a significant impact during his 16-year career with the San Antonio Spurs. Known for his versatility, Ginobili amassed over 14,000 points, 4,000 assists, 3,600 rebounds, and 1,300 steals. He was honored with the NBA Sixth Man of the Year Award in 2008 and was named to the All-NBA Third Team twice. His international accomplishments include winning an Olympic Gold Medal and a EuroLeague title, making him one of only two players to achieve this feat.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Player Profiles: Point Guards at Osceolagarage

Michael Cooper [Player]

Michael Cooper, a five-time NBA champion with the Showtime Los Angeles Lakers, was renowned for his defensive prowess. He earned NBA All-Defensive First Team honors on five occasions and was named NBA Defensive Player of the Year in 1987. Cooper’s contributions extended beyond the court, as he received the J. Walter Kennedy Citizen Award for his outstanding community service. He also excelled in the college basketball scene, being named a USBWA First Team All-American during his time at the University of New Mexico.

Tim Hardaway [Player]

Tim Hardaway, a 2000 Olympic Gold Medalist, enjoyed a successful 13-year NBA career. He scored over 15,000 points and averaged more than 20 points per game for four consecutive seasons. Hardaway’s exceptional skills earned him multiple accolades, including an All-NBA First Team selection and recognition as the Jack McMahon Award winner for the most inspirational player. He is best known for popularizing his signature move, the “UTEP Two-step,” during his college years at the University of Texas at El Paso.

Marques Johnson [Player]

Marques Johnson, a five-time NBA All-Star, showcased his talents during an impressive 11-year NBA career. He averaged 20.1 points and 7.0 rebounds per game and was honored with several accolades, including All-NBA First Team and NBA Comeback Player of the Year. Johnson’s basketball journey began at UCLA, where he was a key member of an NCAA national championship team and received numerous awards, including the consensus National Collegiate Player of the Year.

Bob Huggins [Coach]

Bob Huggins has had a distinguished coaching career spanning 45 years, including 16 years as the head coach at the University of Cincinnati and the past 15 years at West Virginia University. He has led his teams to 25 NCAA Tournament berths, multiple Sweet Sixteen and Elite Eight appearances, and two NCAA Final Four appearances. Huggins has been recognized as Conference USA Coach of the Year, received national coach of the year honors, and boasts an impressive coaching record.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Horry Scale: Kyrie Irving's Epic Game-Winning Shot against the Raptors

George Karl [Coach]

George Karl, a highly regarded NBA coach, guided five different teams to a total of 22 playoff appearances. He led the Seattle Supersonics to the NBA Finals in 1996 and was named NBA Coach of the Year in 2013. Karl’s coaching career spanned 27 seasons, during which he amassed over 1,100 victories. He is widely respected in the basketball community and is ranked sixth all-time in NBA career wins.

Women’s Committee Finalists

Leta Andrews [Coach]

Leta Andrews holds the distinction of being the winningest high school coach of all time, male or female. Over her 51-year coaching career in Texas, Andrews achieved a remarkable record of 1,416-351 (.801). She led her teams to 16 state Final Four appearances and secured a state title in 1990. Andrews has received numerous honors, including Coach of the Year awards and inductions into various Hall of Fames.

Swin Cash [Player]

Swin Cash, a four-time WNBA All-Star and two-time Olympic gold medalist, had an impressive career both in the WNBA and at the collegiate level. She won three WNBA championships and two NCAA National Championships. Cash was named one of the 20 best WNBA players of all time and has been recognized for her contributions to the game.

Marianne Stanley [Coach]

Marianne Stanley has an extensive coaching career that spans both the collegiate and professional ranks. She has coached for a combined 45 years and is currently the head coach of the WNBA’s Indiana Fever. Stanley achieved success at various universities, leading teams to Final Four appearances and winning a NCAA National Championship. Her accomplishments have earned her a place in numerous Hall of Fames.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Pro Baller Deonte Burton: Making Waves at the NBA Summer League

Lindsay Whalen [Player]

Lindsay Whalen, a five-time WNBA All-Star and two-time Olympic gold medalist, had an outstanding career in both the WNBA and collegiate basketball. She achieved success on multiple fronts, winning WNBA championships, earning All-Star selections, and making significant contributions to the University of Minnesota’s basketball program. Whalen is highly regarded for her skill and leadership both on and off the court.

The Class of 2022 will be announced on April 2 at the NCAA Men’s Final Four, with the enshrinement ceremony taking place in September. For fans interested in attending the Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend, VIP packages and tickets will go on sale in April. For more information, visit the official website of


Q: When will the Class of 2022 be announced?

The Class of 2022 will be announced on April 2 at the NCAA Men’s Final Four.

Q: How can I attend the Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend?

VIP packages and tickets for the 2022 Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend will go on sale in April. For more information, visit the official website of


The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame has unveiled the finalists for the Class of 2022, featuring exceptional players, coaches, and a referee who have left an indelible mark on the game of basketball. Among the finalists are distinguished individuals such as Manu Ginobili, Lindsay Whalen, and Bob Huggins, who have achieved greatness in their respective roles. The announcement paves the way for the enshrinement ceremony in September, where the Class of 2022 will be officially recognized for their outstanding contributions to the sport. Stay tuned for updates and join us in celebrating the basketball legends of the past, present, and future.