Monday, 22 Jul 2024

Season Review: 1973-74


With the retirement of Wilt Chamberlain and the departure of several NBA legends, the 1973-74 season marked a shift in the league’s landscape. The Boston Celtics, fueled by their disappointment in the previous year’s Eastern Conference finals, emerged as champions under the guidance of coach Tom Heinsohn and the leadership of Dave Cowens.

Despite winning 14 fewer games than the previous season, the Celtics relied on their core players including Cowens, John Havlicek, and Paul Silas to dominate their way to The Finals. Havlicek, at the age of 34, showcased his timeless skills and played a crucial role in the team’s success.

In the NBA Finals, the Celtics faced off against the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar-led Milwaukee Bucks in a thrilling seven-game series. Utilizing double- and triple-teams to contain Abdul-Jabbar, the Celtics secured a 102-87 victory in Game 7, with Cowens leading the charge. Havlicek’s clutch performances throughout the series earned him the Finals MVP honors.


Eastern Conference semifinals

  • Boston defeated Buffalo (4-2)
  • New York defeated Capital (4-3)

Western Conference semifinals

  • Milwaukee defeated Los Angeles Lakers (4-1)
  • Chicago defeated Detroit (4-3)

Eastern Conference finals

  • Boston defeated New York (4-1)

Western Conference finals

  • Milwaukee defeated Chicago (4-0)
Tham Khảo Thêm:  NBA Twitter reacts to Giannis Antetokounmpo, Bucks winning NBA title

NBA Finals

  • Boston defeated Milwaukee (4-3)

Season Leaders

  • Points: Bob McAdoo, Buffalo Braves (30.6)
  • Assists: Ernie DiGregorio, Buffalo Braves (8.2)
  • Rebounds: Elvin Haynes, Capital Bullets (18.1)
  • Steals: Larry Steele, Portland Trail Blazers (2.68)
  • Blocks: Elmore Smith, Los Angeles Lakers (4.85)
  • Field Goal Percentage: Bob McAdoo, Buffalo Braves (54.7%)
  • Free Throw Percentage: Ernie DiGregorio, Buffalo Braves (90.2%)

Award Winners

  • Most Valuable Player: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee Bucks
  • Rookie of the Year: Ernie DiGregorio, Buffalo Braves
  • Coach of the Year: Ray Scott, Detroit Pistons
  • All-Star Game MVP: Bob Lanier, Detroit Pistons
  • Finals MVP: John Havlicek, Boston Celtics


Q: Who won the 1973-74 NBA championship?
A: The Boston Celtics emerged victorious and secured the NBA championship for the 1973-74 season.

Q: Who was the MVP of the NBA Finals in 1974?
A: John Havlicek of the Boston Celtics was named the Finals MVP for his outstanding performances throughout the series.

Q: Which team did the Boston Celtics defeat in the Eastern Conference finals?
A: The Boston Celtics defeated the New York Knicks in the Eastern Conference finals to advance to the NBA Finals.

Q: Who was the leading scorer of the 1973-74 season?
A: Bob McAdoo of the Buffalo Braves led the league in scoring for the 1973-74 season.


The 1973-74 season brought significant changes to the NBA, with the retirement of Wilt Chamberlain and the departure of several basketball legends. However, the Boston Celtics, led by coach Tom Heinsohn and key players Dave Cowens, John Havlicek, and Paul Silas, rose to the occasion and won the championship.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  2019 NCAA March Madness: The Most Exciting Basketball Event is Here

Their journey to the NBA Finals included thrilling victories and standout performances by Havlicek, who proved his continued greatness on the court. Ultimately, the Celtics triumphed over the Milwaukee Bucks in a seven-game series, with Cowens leading the way and earning Finals MVP honors.

This season also saw remarkable individual performances, with Bob McAdoo, Ernie DiGregorio, Elvin Haynes, Larry Steele, Elmore Smith, and others leading various statistical categories. The award winners, including Kareem Abdul-Jabbar as the Most Valuable Player, further exemplified the exceptional talent and competition in the league.

For more information and exciting NBA content, visit