Thursday, 23 May 2024

Season Review: 1990-91

Season Review

The 1990-91 NBA season was filled with anticipation and high expectations. Michael Jordan, a basketball legend, had achieved numerous scoring titles and had become a household name. However, there was one obstacle that stood in his way – the Wilt Chamberlain syndrome. It seemed that no team with the scoring champion had won a title since Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and the Bucks did it in 1971.

Despite Jordan’s individual success, his team, the Chicago Bulls, had struggled to overcome the Detroit Pistons in the Eastern Conference finals for the past two seasons. But things were about to change. The Bulls had made significant changes to their roster, adding players like John Paxson, Horace Grant, Scottie Pippen, Bill Cartwright, and B.J. Armstrong. They were ready to challenge the Pistons and make a run for the NBA Finals.

Chicago had an outstanding season, winning a franchise-record 61 games and securing the top spot in the NBA. They dominated their opponents, including their longtime rivals, the Pistons, on their way to the Finals. In the Western Conference, the Los Angeles Lakers emerged as a defensive force under new coach Mike Dunleavy and earned their spot in the championship series.

The NBA Finals was a highly anticipated matchup between two superstars – Michael Jordan and Magic Johnson. However, as the series unfolded, it became evident that it took more than just individual brilliance to win a title. The Bulls showcased their defensive prowess and held the Lakers to a record-low 458 points in the five-game series. It was a team effort, and Jordan finally silenced his critics by leading the Bulls to their first NBA championship.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Kia MVP Ladder: Jayson Tatum vs. Luka Doncic Showdown Takes Center Stage

“I never thought I’d be this emotional,” said Jordan, who was overwhelmed with joy and hugged the championship trophy. The victory was a defining moment for him and the Bulls franchise.

Apart from the Bulls’ success, there were other noteworthy performances during the season. The Orlando Magic showed improvement in their second year, and their point guard, Scott Skiles, set a new NBA record for assists in a game with 30. The Phoenix Suns also made history by scoring 107 points in the first half of a game against the Denver Nuggets.

The Eastern Conference playoffs saw the Bulls defeating the New York Knicks, the Boston Celtics overcoming the Indiana Pacers, the Detroit Pistons defeating the Atlanta Hawks, and the Philadelphia 76ers defeating the Milwaukee Bucks.

In the Western Conference, the Portland Trail Blazers defeated the Seattle SuperSonics, the Golden State Warriors defeated the San Antonio Spurs, the Los Angeles Lakers overcame the Houston Rockets, and the Utah Jazz defeated the Phoenix Suns.

In the Conference Semifinals, the Bulls defeated the 76ers, the Pistons defeated the Celtics, the Lakers defeated the Warriors, and the Trail Blazers defeated the Jazz.

The Conference Finals witnessed the Bulls sweeping the Pistons and the Lakers defeating the Trail Blazers.

NBA Finals
In the highly anticipated NBA Finals, the Bulls prevailed over the Lakers, winning the series 4-1. Michael Jordan’s exceptional performance earned him the Finals MVP award, solidifying his status as one of the greatest players in NBA history.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  30 Teams in 30 Days: Grizzlies Bolster their Backcourt

Season Leaders

  • Points: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls (31.5)
  • Assists: John Stockton, Utah Jazz (14.2)
  • Rebounds: David Robinson, San Antonio Spurs (13.0)
  • Steals: Alvin Robertson, Milwaukee Bucks (3.0)
  • Blocks: Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston Rockets (3.9)
  • Field Goal Percentage: Buck Williams, Portland Trail Blazers (60.2)
  • Free Throw Percentage: Reggie Miller, Indiana Pacers (91.8)
  • Three-Point Percentage: Jim Les, Sacramento Kings (46.1)

Award Winners

  • Most Valuable Player: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
  • Rookie of the Year: Derrick Coleman, New Jersey Nets
  • Defensive Player of the Year: Dennis Rodman, Detroit Pistons
  • Most Improved Player: Scott Skiles, Orlando Magic
  • Sixth Man of the Year: Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
  • Coach of the Year: Don Chaney, Houston Rockets
  • All-Star Game MVP: Charles Barkley, Philadelphia 76ers
  • Finals MVP: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls

What were Michael Jordan’s achievements during the 1990-91 NBA season?

Michael Jordan had an exceptional season, leading the Chicago Bulls to their first NBA championship. He showcased his versatility by averaging 31.5 points, 11.4 assists, and 6.6 rebounds per game during the NBA Finals. Jordan also won his fifth straight scoring title and was named the Finals MVP.

What were the key changes that led to the Bulls’ success in the 1990-91 season?

The Bulls made significant roster changes over the years, acquiring players like John Paxson, Horace Grant, Scottie Pippen, Bill Cartwright, and B.J. Armstrong. These additions provided the necessary support and complemented Michael Jordan’s skills. The team’s defensive efforts were also crucial in their journey to the championship.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Season Review: 1961-62

The 1990-91 NBA season was a turning point for Michael Jordan and the Chicago Bulls. After years of falling short in the playoffs, they finally overcame the Detroit Pistons and reached the NBA Finals. They faced the formidable Los Angeles Lakers, led by Magic Johnson, in a highly anticipated matchup. However, it was the Bulls’ exceptional defense and team effort that secured their first NBA championship.

Throughout the season, Jordan showcased his individual brilliance, winning his fifth straight scoring title and earning the Finals MVP award. The Bulls’ success was not solely reliant on Jordan, as the team had made key roster changes and developed a strong defensive unit.

The season also witnessed impressive performances by other teams and players, such as the Orlando Magic’s improvement and Scott Skiles’ record-breaking assists. Overall, the 1990-91 season was a memorable one, solidifying Jordan’s legacy as one of the greatest players in NBA history.

To learn more about the 1990-91 NBA season, visit