Thursday, 23 May 2024

NBA Coach of the Year Award Winners

The NBA Coach of the Year Award is one of the most prestigious accolades in basketball. It recognizes the outstanding coaching performance of individuals throughout the season. Let’s take a look at the list of winners over the years:

Awards History

  • 2022-23: Mike Brown, Sacramento Kings (Voting)
  • 2021-22: Monty Williams, Phoenix Suns (Voting)
  • 2020-21: Tom Thibodeau, New York Knicks (Voting)
  • 2019-20: Nick Nurse, Toronto Raptors (Voting)
  • 2018-19: Mike Budenholzer, Milwaukee Bucks (Voting)
  • 2017-18: Dwane Casey, Toronto Raptors (Voting)
  • 2016-17: Mike D’Antoni, Houston Rockets (Voting)
  • 2015-16: Steve Kerr, Golden State Warriors (Voting)
  • 2014-15: Mike Budenholzer, Atlanta Hawks
  • 2013-14: Gregg Popovich, San Antonio Spurs
  • 2012-13: George Karl, Denver Nuggets
  • 2011-12: Gregg Popovich, San Antonio Spurs
  • 2010-11: Tom Thibodeau, Chicago Bulls
  • 2009-10: Scott Brooks, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • 2008-09: Mike Brown, Cleveland Cavaliers
  • 2007-08: Byron Scott, New Orleans Hornets
  • 2006-07: Sam Mitchell, Toronto Raptors
  • 2005-06: Avery Johnson, Dallas Mavericks
  • 2004-05: Mike D’Antoni, Phoenix Suns
  • 2003-04: Hubie Brown, Memphis Grizzlies
  • 2002-03: Gregg Popovich, San Antonio Spurs
  • 2001-02: Rick Carlisle, Detroit Pistons
  • 2000-01: Larry Brown, Philadelphia 76ers
  • 1999-00: Doc Rivers, Orlando Magic
  • 1998-99: Mike Dunleavy, Portland Trail Blazers
  • 1997-98: Larry Bird, Indiana Pacers
  • 1996-97: Pat Riley, Miami Heat
  • 1995-96: Phil Jackson, Chicago Bulls
  • 1994-95: Del Harris, Los Angeles Lakers
  • 1993-94: Lenny Wilkens, Atlanta Hawks
  • 1992-93: Pat Riley, New York Knicks
  • 1991-92: Don Nelson, Golden State Warriors
  • 1990-91: Don Chaney, Houston Rockets
  • 1989-90: Pat Riley, Los Angeles Lakers
  • 1988-89: Cotton Fitzsimmons, Phoenix Suns
  • 1987-88: Doug Moe, Denver Nuggets
  • 1986-87: Mike Shuler, Portland Trail Blazers
  • 1985-86: Mike Fratello, Atlanta Hawks
  • 1984-85: Don Nelson, Milwaukee Bucks
  • 1983-84: Frank Layden, Utah Jazz
  • 1982-83: Don Nelson, Milwaukee Bucks
  • 1981-82: Gene Shue, Washington Bullets
  • 1980-81: Jack McKinney, Indiana Pacers
  • 1979-80: Bill Fitch, Boston Celtics
  • 1978-79: Cotton Fitzsimmons, Kansas City Kings
  • 1977-78: Hubie Brown, Atlanta Hawks
  • 1976-77: Tom Nissalke, Houston Rockets
  • 1975-76: Bill Fitch, Cleveland Cavaliers
  • 1974-75: Phil Johnson, Kansas City-Omaha Kings
  • 1973-74: Ray Scott, Detroit Pistons
  • 1972-73: Tom Heinsohn, Boston Celtics
  • 1971-72: Bill Sharman, Los Angeles Lakers
  • 1970-71: Dick Motta, Chicago Bulls
  • 1969-70: Red Holzman, New York Knicks
  • 1968-69: Gene Shue, Baltimore Bullets
  • 1967-68: Richie Guerin, St. Louis Hawks
  • 1966-67: Johnny Kerr, Chicago Bulls
  • 1965-66: Dolph Schayes, Philadelphia 76ers
  • 1964-65: Red Auerbach, Boston Celtics
  • 1963-64: Alex Hannum, San Francisco Warriors
  • 1962-63: Harry Gallatin, St. Louis Hawks
Tham Khảo Thêm:  NBA TV to Exclusively Televise 2022 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class Enshrinement


Q: How is the NBA Coach of the Year Award determined?

A: The NBA Coach of the Year Award is determined through a voting process. Members of the media, consisting of sportswriters and broadcasters, vote to select the recipient based on the coach’s performance during the regular season.

Q: Has any coach won the award multiple times?

A: Yes, several coaches have won the NBA Coach of the Year Award multiple times. Notable examples include Gregg Popovich, who has won the award three times, and Pat Riley, who has also won the award three times.

Q: Are there any coaches who have won the award in consecutive years?

A: Yes, there have been coaches who have won the NBA Coach of the Year Award in consecutive years. Pat Riley achieved this feat in 1989-90 and 1990-91, while Don Nelson accomplished it in 1982-83 and 1983-84.


The NBA Coach of the Year Award recognizes the outstanding coaching performances in the league each season. From legendary coaches like Phil Jackson and Gregg Popovich to up-and-coming talents like Monty Williams, the list of winners showcases the diverse range of coaching abilities. Coaches are selected through a voting process by members of the media, taking into account their regular season performance. Congratulations to all the past winners for their exceptional contributions to the game of basketball!

Tham Khảo Thêm:  The Dominance of the 2017-18 NBA Rookie Class: A Look Back

Continue following for more exciting NBA updates and analysis!