Monday, 22 Jul 2024

NBA MVP Award Winners

The NBA Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award is a prestigious accolade given to the most outstanding player in the league each season. Since its inception, the award has recognized the remarkable talents of various basketball legends. Let’s take a look at the list of NBA MVP Award winners throughout history.

NBA MVP Award Winners

  • 2022-23: Joel Embiid, Philadelphia 76ers
  • 2021-22: Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets
  • 2020-21: Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets
  • 2019-20: Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks
  • 2018-19: Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks
  • 2017-18: James Harden, Houston Rockets
  • 2016-17: Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • 2015-16: Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors
  • 2014-15: Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors
  • 2013-14: Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • 2012-13: LeBron James, Miami Heat
  • 2011-12: LeBron James, Miami Heat
  • 2010-11: Derrick Rose, Chicago Bulls
  • 2009-10: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
  • 2008-09: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
  • 2007-08: Kobe Bryant, Los Angeles Lakers
  • 2006-07: Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks
  • 2005-06: Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns
  • 2004-05: Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns
  • 2003-04: Kevin Garnett, Minnesota Timberwolves
  • 2002-03: Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs
  • 2001-02: Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs
  • 2000-01: Allen Iverson, Philadelphia 76ers
  • 1999-00: Shaquille O’Neal, Los Angeles Lakers
  • 1998-99: Karl Malone, Utah Jazz
  • 1997-98: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
  • 1996-97: Karl Malone, Utah Jazz
  • 1995-96: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
  • 1994-95: David Robinson, San Antonio Spurs
  • 1993-94: Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston Rockets
  • 1992-93: Charles Barkley, Phoenix Suns
  • 1991-92: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
  • 1990-91: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
  • 1989-90: Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers
  • 1988-89: Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers
  • 1987-88: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
  • 1986-87: Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers
  • 1985-86: Larry Bird, Boston Celtics
  • 1984-85: Larry Bird, Boston Celtics
  • 1983-84: Larry Bird, Boston Celtics
  • 1982-83: Moses Malone, Philadelphia 76ers
  • 1981-82: Moses Malone, Houston Rockets
  • 1980-81: Julius Erving, Philadelphia 76ers
  • 1979-80: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Los Angeles Lakers
  • 1978-79: Moses Malone, Houston Rockets
  • 1977-78: Bill Walton, Portland Trail Blazers
  • 1976-77: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Los Angeles Lakers
  • 1975-76: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Los Angeles Lakers
  • 1974-75: Bob McAdoo, Buffalo Braves
  • 1973-74: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee Bucks
  • 1972-73: Dave Cowens, Boston Celtics
  • 1971-72: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee Bucks
  • 1970-71: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee Bucks
  • 1969-70: Willis Reed, New York Knicks
  • 1968-69: Wes Unseld, Baltimore Bullets
  • 1967-68: Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia 76ers
  • 1966-67: Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia 76ers
  • 1965-66: Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia 76ers
  • 1964-65: Bill Russell, Boston Celtics
  • 1963-64: Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati Royals
  • 1962-63: Bill Russell, Boston Celtics
  • 1961-62: Bill Russell, Boston Celtics
  • 1960-61: Bill Russell, Boston Celtics
  • 1959-60: Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia Warriors
  • 1958-59: Bob Pettit, St. Louis Hawks
  • 1957-58: Bill Russell, Boston Celtics
  • 1956-57: Bob Cousy, Boston Celtics
  • 1955-56: Bob Pettit, St. Louis Hawks
Tham Khảo Thêm:  Britney Griner leads U.S. to gold medal game with 79-59 win vs. Serbia

For a complete list of NBA MVP Award winners, make sure to visit our website.


  1. Who has won the most NBA MVP Awards?

    • Kareem Abdul-Jabbar holds the record for winning the most MVP Awards, with six accolades to his name.
  2. Which team has had the most NBA MVP winners?

    • The Chicago Bulls and the Los Angeles Lakers are tied with the most MVP winners from their respective teams, with six players each.
  3. How is the NBA MVP Award determined?

    • The NBA MVP Award is determined by a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters who vote for the most valuable player at the end of the regular season.
  4. Has any player won the NBA MVP Award unanimously?

    • Yes, Stephen Curry became the first unanimous MVP in NBA history when he won the award for the 2015-16 season.


The NBA MVP Award is an annual recognition of the league’s most outstanding player. With a rich history of exceptional athletes who have graced the court, this prestigious award has become a symbol of greatness in the world of basketball. From legends like Michael Jordan and Kobe Bryant to current stars like LeBron James and Giannis Antetokounmpo, the list of NBA MVP winners showcases the immense talent and impact these players have had on the game. For more information on the NBA MVP Award and its winners, visit our website and stay up to date with the latest news in the world of basketball.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Maintaining a "Next Play" Mentality in Basketball