Monday, 22 Jul 2024

Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Finalists for Class of 2021

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame has revealed the finalists for the Class of 2021, showcasing the incredible talent in both the North American and Women’s categories. This year’s list includes nine first-time finalists, along with several previous finalists.

North American Committee Finalists:

Rick Adelman [Coach]

Rick Adelman, the ninth-winningest coach in NBA history, has had an illustrious career spanning over three decades. He led teams like the Portland Trail Blazers to two NBA Finals appearances and coached legendary players such as Clyde Drexler, Tracy McGrady, and Yao Ming.

Chris Bosh [Player]

Chris Bosh, a two-time NBA champion and 11-time NBA All-Star, has left a significant mark on the league. Known for his versatility and leadership, Bosh played a crucial role in the success of the Miami Heat, earning him a spot among the finalists.

Michael Cooper [Player]

Michael Cooper, a five-time NBA champion with the Los Angeles Lakers, was a defensive force during the Showtime era. He earned NBA All-Defensive First Team honors five times and was named NBA Defensive Player of the Year in 1987, showcasing his impact on the court.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Dejounte Murray Signs $120 Million Extension with the Atlanta Hawks

Paul Pierce [Player]

Paul Pierce, a 10-time NBA All-Star and NBA Finals MVP, had a remarkable career with the Boston Celtics. He played a pivotal role in the team’s 2008 championship run and ranks among the all-time greats in free throws made and three-point field goals made.

Bill Russell [Coach]

Bill Russell, the first Black NBA head coach, made history by leading the Boston Celtics to back-to-back NBA championships in 1968 and 1969. His contributions as both a player and coach solidify his place in basketball lore.

Tim Hardaway [Player]

Tim Hardaway, a five-time NBA All-Star, showcased his skills as a prolific scorer throughout his career. Known for his signature move, the “UTEP Two-step,” Hardaway left a lasting impact on the game.

Marques Johnson [Player]

Marques Johnson, a five-time NBA All-Star, achieved success both in college and the NBA. As a member of the UCLA Bruins, he won an NCAA national championship, and in the NBA, he averaged over 20 points per game in 11 seasons.

Ben Wallace [Player]

Ben Wallace, a four-time NBA Defensive Player of the Year, was a dominant force on the court. Known for his shot-blocking and rebounding abilities, Wallace played a crucial role in the Detroit Pistons’ 2004 championship run.

Chris Webber [Player]

Chris Webber, a five-time NBA All-Star, contributed significantly to the game both with his scoring prowess and overall basketball IQ. His impact on the court earned him a spot among the finalists.

Women’s Committee Finalists:

Leta Andrews [Coach]

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Super Sophomores Shine on All-State Teams

Leta Andrews, the all-time winningest high school coach, has dedicated over 50 years to coaching basketball. Her achievements, including leading teams to multiple state championships, solidify her status as a coaching legend.

Yolanda Griffith [Player]

Yolanda Griffith, a seven-time WNBA All-Star and two-time Olympic gold medalist, had an impressive career. Her defensive prowess and leadership skills made her an invaluable asset to her teams.

Lauren Jackson [Player]

Lauren Jackson, a seven-time WNBA All-Star and three-time WNBA Most Valuable Player, was a dominant force on the court. Her scoring ability and versatility led the Seattle Storm to two WNBA championships.

Marianne Stanley [Coach]

Marianne Stanley, with over 40 years of coaching experience, has established herself as a respected figure in women’s basketball. Her achievements, including an NCAA national championship, highlight her coaching prowess.

These finalists represent the best of the best in basketball. The Class of 2021, including those selected by the direct elect committees, will be announced on May 16, 2021. Stay tuned for more details on this highly anticipated event.


Q: When will the Class of 2021 be announced?
A: The Class of 2021, including those selected by the direct elect committees, will be unveiled on May 16, 2021.

Q: Who are some notable first-time finalists?
A: Some notable first-time finalists include Rick Adelman, Chris Bosh, Michael Cooper, Paul Pierce, and Yolanda Griffith.

Q: How many finalists are there in total?
A: There are 14 finalists in total, with nine from the North American Committee and five from the Women’s Committee.


The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame has announced the finalists for the Class of 2021. These exceptional players and coaches have left an indelible mark on the game of basketball. From legendary coaches like Rick Adelman to iconic players like Chris Bosh and Paul Pierce, the Class of 2021 showcases the best of the best in the sport. The final inductees will be revealed on May 16, 2021, in what promises to be a memorable ceremony.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Beal Excited for Westbrook's Impact on the Wizards